Unemploymentosphere

an Amazing WordPress.com site

Good Ol’ Ramblin Blog

Writer’s blog, bardate 66259.45

I don’t feel like organizing a blog this week, so you’ll get the rock skipping around topics this week, as long as it’s too long to tweet.

I’m addicted to the Adam Carolla pod casts. He does complain a lot, but in the most entertaining way. He’s good at drawing some obscure or forgotten thing we all get to parallel his points. I love the out of context sound bites, or “pulls.” I love the talk shit about the news items. Since I can’t get Howard stern in a decade, I miss that. Sick of and a little furied by the newscaster drones that smile about the bullshit they report about.

There’s some disciplining I need to do. Unemployed and even people who work at home are guilty of this. We get so used to everything being on our own time, so used to changing what we’re doing on our every whim that we get sidetracked with a lot of loose things on our desk at the end of the day.

I spend a lot of time making lists, writing, condensing a lot of things. Maybe in my efforts to curb my physical hoarding, I may switch to written thought hoarding. I can’t help it. I have discovered that my whole family hoards a lot, they each have a half-dozen collections of something. In one case, so large, they were interviewed on the news (record albums).

Regarding my bardates, that was something I came up with at the opening of the Star Trek Experience. I worked for now defunct Paramount Parks at the time and I was present at the opening. I discovered I can’t find a lot of digicam pics I took for years because my camera back then randomly reset it’s “master” number count. Maybe it was when batteries were removed for x amount of time? So, numbers were reset and windows 98 appeared to fuck my shit up. Oh-

I had to have gone thru my drive one day to pull pictures and got the prompt if I wanted to replace a file with the same number or not. That version didn’t offer to tack on a (1), (2), etc after. So I lost dozens if not hundreds of pics that were saved over other batches. It’s why I carry disposable cameras for pictures of people “with me” and “hot chicks” while I use the digicam for “scenic” pictures and people I don‘t know. And now, photo developers are starting to phase out their film developing machines! Damn, Kodak. They’re struggling, so instead of saving the dying format for us with film, they sell it off for it to dissolve. Digi has always been shittier quality.

Even movies at the theaters are all going digital. When our country’s “best directors” go with this and not fight to at least keep the rep theaters with film, we’re all fucking doomed. In a decade film will be black market shit and this kills me with all the other American industries doomed by computers.

I’ve been trying to focus on good things, although I just ranted. I’m focusing on spending less time that annoy me. I watch as little TV as possible for the best, classic things I need to see on PBS and my netflix cue. I have to watch the best things I can because I read Netflix CEO is interested in streaming and cable channel and wants to give minimal effort into the only DVD home delivery service I like, until it will die out.

Just go with the times, you say. I have no problem doing this if the “change” is an actual improvement. All this new crap is either 1) rehashed old stuff, 2) “technology” that is basically, buy this new thing to move all our old stuff (pictures, movies, computer files and games) to. And it’s in 3-D that makes your eyes hurt. And you have to buy all the accessories and monthly subscriptions.

I don’t want to buy an I-anything that you know will be an obsolete “patch” for next years model. You used to be able to buy something that lasted over a decade that stood on it’s own, not networked to something. I want my future “things” to maintain that standard, alright? And I don’t see a lot right now that can get past my “around in 10 years” standard.

The lottery I wanted to write more about, but I want to limit my second-parters. I’ll turn it on it’s ear into something else sometime.

2012/04/03 - Posted by | random trains of thought- choo choo | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

